What is a project?

A project is something you and your team are working on over a period of time.

You will have two basic types of projects - external projects and internal projects.

Your external projects are for your clients and bring in revenue, while your internal projects won't. Internal projects can be any project that uses internal labor, but doesn't generate revenue - from sales proposals to your companies office move.

Managing projects

Adding a New Project

There are 4 ways to add a new project:

1. Projects list

  1. Go to Manage > Projects

  2. Click the Add New Project button.

  3. Enter the name of the project

  4. Select the client from the Client drop-down. If the client doesn't exist, you'll be able to add a new client.

  5. Select the pricing model from the Pricing model drop-down.

  6. Select the rate card to be used with the project from the Rates drop-down.

  7. Select the project status from the Status drop-down.

  8. Select the team assigned to the project (optional).

  9. Click the Create button.

2. Global Create button

  1. From the Projects or People Planner, click the Create button in top-right corner.

  2. Select Create Project.

  3. Enter the name of the project in the Name field.

  4. Select the client from the Client drop-down. If the client doesn't exist, you'll be able to add a new client.

  5. Select the rate card to be used with the project from the Rates drop-down.

  6. Select the project status from the Status drop-down.

  7. Select the pricing model from the Pricing model drop-down.

  8. Select the team assigned to the project (optional).

  9. Click the Create button.

3. From the Project Planner

  1. From the Project Planner, click the Add new project button at the bottom of the Project list.

  2. Select the client from the Client drop-down. 

  3. Select the rate card to be used with the project from the Rates drop-down.

  4. Select the project status from the Status drop-down.

  5. Select the pricing model from the Pricing model drop-down.

  6. Select the team assigned to the project (optional).

  7. Click the Create button.

4. Bulk add

  1. Click on either the global Create button or Add new project button.

  2. Select the Bulk Add tab.

  3. Enter the Project Names and select the Client Names for all new projects to add.

  4. Click the Create button.

Editing Projects Details

Projects can be edited in two ways: 

1. From the Project Dashboard

  1. Select the project you want to edit from the Projects list.

  2. Click the cog button.

  3. Select Edit Details.

  4. Update details.

  5. Click the Save button.

2. From the Project Planner

  1. Find the project on the Project Planner.

  2. Right-click on the project's icon.

  3. Select Project Details.

  4. Click the cog button

  5. Select Edit Details.

  6. Update details.

  7. Click the Save button.

Viewing Project Details

Click the Details button for the project you want to view from the Projects list to get information on:

  • A forecast of the key financial project metrics

  • The project's budget estimate.

  • A projection of your project's performance.

  • An overview of actual hours worked vs. what was planned. 

  • Who on your team is working on the project.

Assigning People to Projects

 See Project Scheduling

Archiving Projects

To keep your projects list up-to-date and manageable, you can archive projects that are complete, on hold, or are no longer relevant.

When you archive a project, all associated historic project data will be saved. You can still view project details for an archived project. To do so, filter your projects list to only show archived projects and select the project you want to view.

You cannot archive a project that has people or placeholders scheduled for the present day or any time in the future. In order to archive the project, head over to the Projects Planner and remove any future assignments.

Once archived, projects are removed from the Projects Planner and you will no longer be able to schedule people or placeholders on that project.

Note that any capacity and financial forecasts in Runn include active projects only.

To archive a project:

  1. Select the project you want to archive from the Projects list

  2. Click the cog button

  3. Click Archive

Deleting Projects

We don’t recommend you delete a project. Instead, if you no longer require a project, we recommend you archive it to retain any associated historic project data.

If you still choose to delete, note that deleting a project is permanent. There’s no undo, so use this action with care.

To delete a project:

  1. Select the project you want to delete from the Projects list.

  2. Click the cog menu

  3. Select Delete

  4. Follow the instructions in the pop-up box

If in doubt, please contact our support team, either on chat from inside the app, or by emailing help@runn.io.

Still have questions? We're happy to help!

Did this answer your question?