What are clients?

A client is anyone or any business for whom you’ll complete work. They provide a way of grouping projects together under a single entity.

For most use cases, this will be an external business that you are undertaking the project for. However, some customers use clients for internal departments, or for different groups within their business, we have even had someone use airplane hangers as clients and planes are projects.


The choice is yours and it can be anything that suits your requirement. It is simply used as an easy way to group, filter and see totals of projects.

Managing clients

Go to Manage > Clients in Runn’s top level nav to view and manage your clients.

Adding a New Client 

There are two ways to add a new client

1. Clients nav

  1. Click the New Client button

  2. Enter the name of the client in the Client name field

  3. Enter the website address in the Client website field (optional)

  4. Upload a company image (optional). If there is an image associated with the client website, Runn will automatically use that image.

  5. Click the Create button

2. Global Create button

  1. From the Projects or People planner, click Create button

  2. Select Create Client

  3. Enter the client's name

  4. Enter the client's website (optional)

  5. Click the Create button

Editing Client Details

  1. Select the client you want to edit from the Clients list to access the client dashboard

  2. Click the cog button

  3. Select Edit Details

  4. Edit details as necessary

  5. Click the Save button

Viewing Client Details

Click the Details button for the client you want to view from the Clients list to access the client dashboard. Here, you'll get:

  • A forecast of the key financial project metrics for the next 4 weeks.

  • A list of any active and archived projects for that client. 

Deleting Clients

You cannot delete a client that has active projects. We also don’t recommend you delete a client once you have projects planned. 

If you still choose to delete, note that deleting a client is permanent and will also remove all associated projects, both active and archived. There’s no undo, so use this action with care. 

  1. From the Client dashboard, click the cog button

  2. Follow the instructions in the pop-up to delete

If in doubt, please contact our support team, either on chat from inside the app, or by emailing help@runn.io

Still have questions? We're happy to help!

Did this answer your question?