What is a role?

A role is a high level description of a set of tasks and activities undertaken by a person of that role.

Each member of your staff has one main role, corresponding to their job title set out in their contract, but can take on multiple different roles depending on their skills and your project requirements.

Say your project manager, Paula, occasionally steps in to help out with regression testing before a new software release. Her main role is Project Manager, but you can also assign her the Testing role (or any other role) on a project as needed.

A person’s charge out rate is based on their role within a project, and can be customized on a project-by-project basis through the use of rate cards.

Roles are also needed to create a project budget, create a project schedule, and view capacity forecasts.

Managing roles

Go to Manage > Roles in Runn’s top-level nav to set up and manage roles.

Adding new roles 

  1. Click the Add New Role button

  2. Enter the name of the role in the Role name field

  3. Enter the default role cost in the Default internal role cost field (read about the default internal role cost).

  4. Enter the default rate in the Standard charge-out rate field (read about the standard charge-out rate).

  5. Click the Create button

Don't forget! Make sure you head over to your rate cards to further customize the charge-out rate for the role you just created.

Editing roles 

  1. Click the Details button for the role you want to edit on the Roles list

  2. Click the cog button

  3. Select Edit Details

  4. Update role details

  5. Click the Save button

Note: To change the rate(s) for a role, head over to your rate cards and edit your standard rate card and your custom rate cards.

Viewing role details

  1. Click the Details button for the role you want to view from the Roles list to get information on:

  • Who of your people are currently holding that role.

  • Which clients and projects are using the role.

Deleting roles

Warning: Before you can delete a role, you first must remove that role from all dependent records - past, present, and future - including people's contracts and project assignments. 

  1. Click the Details button for the role you want to delete on the Roles list

  2. Click the cog button

  3. Select Delete. There’s no undo - click the Delete button on the Warning message to confirm deletion.

There’s no undo so use this action with care. If in doubt, please contact our support team, either on chat from inside the app or by emailing help@runn.io.


Still have questions? We're happy to help! 

Did this answer your question?