People are your full or part time employees and contractors that work on your projects.

Go to Manage > People in Runn’s top level nav to manage your employees and contractors.

Adding People to Runn

There are 4 ways to add people to your team:

1. From the People List 

  1. Click on New Person

  2. Enter the name of the person in the First Name and Last Name fields

  3. Select the person's role in the Role drop-down

  4. Select the person's Employment Type in the drop-down

  5. Optional: Enter the work email address of the person in the Email field

  6. In order to see a picture of the person on the Planner and in your People list, you can use their Gravatar profile picture associated with their email address or upload an image. If you haven't used Gravatar before, here's how to sign-up and set-up Gravatar.

  7. Click Show other details to add more details about the person:

  • Select the person's team in the Team drop-down

  • Enter the person's contract Start Date and End Date

  • Select the person's availability per day under Work Days. You can change your company's default full-time hours by clicking Review.

  • Select the person's cost under Cost to Business

    8. Click Create

2. From the People Planner

  1. From the People Planner, click New Person at the bottom of the People list.

  2. Fill in the person's First Name, Last Name, Role, Email (optional), Team (optional) and People Tags (optional).

  3. Click Contract to set up the person's contract details.

  4. Select the Employment Type, contract Start Date (optional), End Date (optional), Work Days and Cost to Business.

  5. Click Create

3. Global New Button in the Planner

  1. From the planner, click New in the top-left

  2. Select Person

  3. Fill in the person's First Name, Last Name, Role, Email (optional), Team (optional) and People Tags (optional).

  4. Click Contract to set up the person's contract details.

  5. Select the Employment Type, contract Start Date (optional), End Date (optional), Work Days and Cost to Business.

  6. Click Create

4. Bulk Add from the Planner

  1. Click on either the global New button or New Person button

  2. Select the Bulk Add tab

  3. Enter the details for all new people to add

  4. Click Create

Viewing a Person's Details

Click Details next to a person on the People list to get information on:

  • Their key metrics for the next 4 weeks

  • What roles they are assigned to

  • Which projects they are scheduled to work on 

  • Their contract details

  • Any time off they have booked

From here, you can also edit a person's details and manage their contract.

Editing a Person’s Details

You can edit your people's details in two ways:

1. One person at a time

  1. Click Details next to a person on the People list

  2. Click the cog button

  3. Select Edit Details

  4. Update details

  5. Click Save

2. Bulk edit

  1. Go to the People List

  2. Click Bulk Edit

  3. Select 'Fix your data' or 'Update your data' (see below for more information)

  4. Update details. You can also search the fields of your people in the search bar.

  5. Click Save

When you visit the page, you'll be asked if you want to Fix your data or Update your data.

  • Fixing your data means there is a mistake and you need to change something. For example, an email is wrong or people have the wrong role, or incorrect costs. This will overwrite your historical data.

  • Update your data means that something has changed, such as someone has changed role, or a salary increase has resulted in a cost increase. This will change the data from a point in time.

    For example, if someone is moving from Intermediate Developer to Senior Developer next week, choose 'Update your data' and the date of the change. Then all data from that date will use Senior Developer, and all historical data will still use Intermediate Developer.

Archiving a Person

When you no longer need to plan for a person you can archive them.

Archiving them will keep all their data, but they will no longer display on the planner by default.

You are also no longer charged for any archived person.

  1. Click Details next to a person on the People list

  2. Click the cog button

  3. Select Archive

Deleting a Person

Please note that deleting a person is permanent and will remove the person from all dependent records, both past and future, including roles, projects and assignments. 

There’s no undo so use this action with care. If in doubt, please contact our support team, either on chat from inside the app or by emailing help@runn.io

  1. Click Details next to a person on the People list

  2. Click the cog button

  3. Select Delete

  4. Type DELETE and click Delete Person to confirm

Still have questions? We're happy to help! 

Did this answer your question?