Public holidays let you easily set up time off based on each person's working location.
All admins and editors can add, edit and delete public holidays and holiday groups.
Setting up Public Holiday Groups
You'll first need to set up Holiday Groups for each region you have people in.
Head to Settings > Public Holidays
Click New Holiday Group
Select a country. You can also optionally select a region. Give the holiday group a name.
A list of all the public holidays for that country or region will appear. De-select the ones that you do not want to include.
(Optional) If a specific holiday you want to add is not listed, you can add them under Custom Holidays
Adding Location Tags to People (for global teams)
If you have a global team with different public holidays, adding a location tag to the team members will help you quickly filter the people when adding them to Holiday Groups.
Check out this article to learn how to bulk edit tags.
Adding People to Holiday Groups
Each person can only belong to one holiday group. There are 2 ways to add a person to a holiday group.
1. Add existing people
Recommended if you are setting up or managing public holidays for the first time, or want to bulk-add people.
From the Public Holidays page, click on the 3-dot menu and select Edit People
Click Add People
Search for the people you wish to add. If you have added a location tag, type the location in the search bar. You can tick the box next to the search bar to Select All
Click Add Selected
All future public holidays for that holiday group will get automatically added to the people's schedules.
2. Add new people
Recommended while you are creating new people in Runn.
When you have the create / edit person page open for a person, select the holiday group under Public Holidays. Click Create / Save.
All future public holidays for that holiday group will get automatically added to their schedule.
❓ What will happen to the future assignments after I have added the Public Holidays?
Public holidays will overwrite any existing assignments planned for that date. Project hours will automatically be reduced.
Public holidays will be scheduled for the current year and the following two years.
Working with Public Holidays
All public holidays will be visible in the people planner under each person. You can hover over each one to see the public holiday name and location.
Public holidays will overwrite any existing assignments on that date. Project hours will automatically be reduced.
Public holidays will overwrite any existing time offs on that date.
You can overwrite a public holiday by scheduling a non-working day on top. This will appear as overtime.
You can view all of a person's time off on their dashboard.
Deleting Public Holidays
You cannot delete individual public holidays. To schedule someone to work on a public holiday, you can create a non-working day on top. This will appear as over-capacity for that day.
If you delete a holiday group, all future public holidays will be removed for the associated people. All public holidays from the past will remain in their schedules.
This action cannot be undone.
Click the 3-dot menu of a public holiday group, then select Delete
Click Delete Holiday Group