Skip to main content

Transfer Assignments to a Placeholder or a Person

When an employee is unavailable or leaving the organization, you can transfer the work to another person or to a placeholder if you don't know who can pick up the remaining work.

Points to Note

  • You can transfer assignments for only one person/placeholder on one project at a time. If you need to transfer assignments of multiple people or placeholders, you have to do so separately

  • You can only transfer assignments across people or placeholders within the same project. Transferring assignments across different projects is not supported at the moment.

  • You cannot transfer assignments to the same person who already has assignments on the project during the same period.

Select the assignments to transfer

  • If you would like to transfer one assignment, click on the assignment and click the Transfer button

  • If you wish to move all the future assignments over, click on the earliest assignment you wish to transfer, then click Select to Right

  • If you wish to transfer only a few selected assignments, click on Multi-Select Mode and select the assignments

Enter Transfer Mode

  • Click on the 3-dot icon on the assignment, select Transfer All Selected:


⚡Pro Tip: Use keyboard shortcuts to quickly Select to Right and Transfer

  • Hover your cursor on the first assignment you plan to transfer, press Shift + right arrow key on your keyboard to Select To Right

  • Press T to Transfer

  • A split screen will appear with a filtered list of people who may be suitable to take up the work.

    • If you are transferring assignments from a placeholder, all placeholder requirements will be applied as filters to produce the filtered list (learn more here)

    • If you are transferring assignments from another person, only the Project Role will be applied as a filter:

Transfer to another Person

Learn more about the steps to transfer the assignments to another person here: Transfer assignments to a Person

Transfer to a Placeholder

  • On the top-left corner of the split screen, toggle to the Placeholders option:

  • Either create a new placeholder or, alternatively, use an existing one from this project and click the Transfer button.

  • Repeat the same process for another project for this person as needed

Did this answer your question?