Skip to main content

Clone Assignments to a Placeholder or a Person

How to clone assignments

If multiple people or placeholders have the same assignments, you can easily clone assignments among them to speed up your scheduling.

Points to Note

  • You can only clone assignments across people or placeholders within the same project. Cloning assignments across different projects is not supported at the moment.

  • If you would like to clone all assignments from a placeholder to a new placeholder, clone the placeholder directly.

Select the assignments to clone

  • If you would like to clone one assignment, click on the assignment and click the Clone button

  • If you wish to clone all the future assignments over, click on the earliest assignment you wish to clone, then click Select to Right
    ​

  • If you wish to clone only a few selected assignments, click on Multi-Select Mode and select the assignments

Enter Clone Mode

  • Click on the 3-dot icon on the assignment, select Clone All Selected:
    ​

⚡Pro Tip: Use keyboard shortcuts to quickly Select to Right and Clone

  • Hover your cursor on the first assignment you plan to clone, press Shift + right arrow key on your keyboard to Select To Right

  • Press C to Clone

  • A split screen will appear with a list of all project team members on the project:
    ​

  • Adjust the filters on the split screen as needed (learn more here)
    ​

Clone to another Person

  • Hover over the Clone button to see the impact on the person's availability if the work is cloned to them
    ​

  • Click on the grey arrow to view other projects' assignments for the person
    ​

  • Once you've identified the right person, click Clone. You can clone the assignments to multiple people.

  • Once you have finished cloning, click the X button at the top right of the split screen to exit Clone Mode.

❗ Warning sign - Time off

  • You will see a warning sign (exclamation mark "!") on the Clone button if the person has time off during the assignment period, so they cannot take up all the assignment hours. If you click Clone, the new assignments will override the existing ones.
    ​

❗Warning sign - Existing assignments

  • You will also see a warning sign (exclamation mark "!") on the Transfer button if the person has existing assignments during the assignment period. If you click Clone, the assignments selected will override the existing assignments of the person:
    ​
    ​

The Clone button will be greyed out if you are transferring multiple assignments to a person with existing assignments:

Clone to a Placeholder

  • On the top-left corner of the split screen, toggle to the Placeholders option:
    ​
    ​

  • Either create a new placeholder or, alternatively, use an existing one from this project and click the Clone button.
    ​

  • Repeat the same process for another placeholder as needed

Did this answer your question?