Skip to main content

Coming soon - Better Phase Planning & Rescheduling (Beta)

The beta feature is available upon request. Please reach out via our in-app chatbox or email us at help@runn.io to get early access.

Managing assignments by phase is getting easier and better aligned with your needs. With this beta enhancement, you can now:

  • Plan the same person and role across multiple phases for the same time period

  • Move a phase and its scheduled assignments together

  • Reschedule multiple phases faster with multi-select

⚠️ IMPORTANT for existing Runn users

When the beta is enabled, please note the following key differences in managing phases:

  • Dragging a phase name now always moves all its associated assignments together. To change a phase's dates without moving its assignments, adjust the phase duration.

  • Deleting a phase deletes all its associated assignments and actual hours. Only Admins are now allowed to delete phases with actuals. Project Managers can delete a phase and its assignments, but cannot delete a phase containing actuals.

  • Timesheet users now need to enter 0 actual hours if they did not work on the phase they are scheduled on. They also need to click Add Entry and select the project and phase if they work on a phase that they are not scheduled on.


Add concurrent assignments across phases to a person/placeholder

A person or placeholder can now have assignments on the same dates, with the same role and workstream, when those assignments belong to different phases.

  • If the project has phases, a + icon is now visible at the person level on the timeline. Click and drag to add an assignment to them on a different phase

Changes in how to add actual hours to phases on timesheets

  • Timesheet users can no longer change the phase directly on the timesheet by clicking on the phase color icon.

  • If you did not work on the phase you were scheduled on, enter 0 actual hours against the phase on the timesheet. Otherwise, it will be counted as missing timesheets.

  • If you worked on another phase that you are not scheduled on, click Add Entry to manually select the project and phase:
    ​


    ​


Phase Rescheduling

⚠️ Points to Note

  • Actuals do not move. You can reschedule a phase with actuals, but logged actuals remain on their original dates; only scheduled assignments move.

  • Weekend and public-holiday assignments do not move automatically with the phases at the moment. They have to be moved manually.

Reschedule one phase

  • Click the Phase name and drag the phase

  • This automatically drags all the linked assignments

Reschedule multiple phases

  • Press Shift + Click on the selected phases (or right-click on a phase name > select Multi-Select Phases)

  • Drag to move the selected phases

Reschedule all future phases

  • Right-click on the earliest phase name you want to reschedule > Select Select all to Right (or hover the cursor on the earliest phase and press Shift + right arrow key)

  • Drag all the selected phases to the desired period
    ​


Enhanced Phase-based Scheduling: Phase Mode

Clicking on a phase name opens the Phase Mode. Under Phase Mode, you can:

View and Edit Phase Details

From the Edit & Plan Phase menu, you can:

  • Edit the Phase name and color

  • View the number of people and placeholders with assignments linked to the phase

  • View the Total (Forecast) Hours of the phase

Add assignments to a phase more easily

  • Under Phase Mode, any assignments added are all automatically linked to the selected phase
    ​
    ​

Adjust phase dates and duration (phase only, not assignments)

  • If you need to extend, shorten, or change the duration of a phase, click on the front or the end of the phase to adjust the length, or use the calendar icon
    ​
    ​

  • This only adjusts the phase duration, not its assignments. You will also need to adjust each assignment's duration individually, since assignments may not share the same start and end dates as a phase.
    ​

Delete a phase

  • Right-click on a phase name > Select Delete
    ​


    ​

  • Deleting a phase no longer changes assignments and actuals to “No Phase”. When you delete a phase, you delete all its associated assignments and actual hours.

  • Only Admins are now allowed to delete phases with actuals

  • Managers with the right to edit the project can delete a phase and its assignments, but cannot delete a phase containing actuals.


Questions?

Please reach out via our in-app chatbox or email us at help@runn.io if you have any questions!

Did this answer your question?